Stowebusters

Current Blast

Updated February 21, 2019 at 3:17 PM

Greetings Busters and Parents!


We hope you are enjoying your Presidents’ holiday. This Holiday Week Blast will be short and sweet!


Snow Conditions
After a wild couple of weeks (an epic thaw and freeze followed by feet of snow culminating with the fabled Mount Mansfield snow stake hitting 100 inches), our snowpack and surface is finally beginning to normalize again. I’m sure Busters noticed the shift to more conservative terrain choices over the past two weekends as a result (thanks Buster coaches for your attention to safety and great decision-making). This weekend will see groups continuing to operate with a “Yellow Light” and safety-first mentality. Attention Busters: listening to your coach, staying close to your group, and generally adhering to the Three R’s in our Code of Conduct will be paramount.


Minibuster and Mightybuster Race Event
Along with last week’s FIS World Championships in Åre, Sweden, this is a ski racing event you do NOT want to miss!
• When: Sun, Feb 24
o Course Inspection: 945AM
o Minibusters Race: 10AM
o Mightybusters: Immediately after Minis
• Where: Competition Hill, Spruce
• Who: All Minibusters and Mightybusters
• What: Minibusters, one run. Mightybusters, one or two runs… fastest run counts.


Spectators are welcomed and encouraged! Please look for signage which will direct Finish area spectators inside safety fencing. If you’re on skis, feel free to view along the racing venue.


Volunteers are also welcomed… we can use all the help we can get helping kids remove their racing vests after their final run.


Get Your High Resolution Photos!
Buster dad extraordinaire Alan Ouellette stood on the side of the race hill last weekend and shot photos of all racers – they’re amazing. Click here to see the photos. If you see one you like, email Alan at skisailvt@gmail.com. He’ll send you the high resolution digital file. Thank you Al!


Gate Training
Gate Training on Comp Hill from 1230PM-2PM on Saturday, Feb 23. Minis and Mightys… it’s your last chance to practice before the big race! Stowebusters and AMP… you’ll be racing again at the end of March!


AMP Snow Science
Finally, after a series of reschedules it’s happening this Saturday, Feb 23… All Mountain Program (AMP) groups will join our resident snow expert Chris Robinson to dig pits and examine this season’s deep and extremely fascinating snowpack! If your family has a compact avalanche shovel, please bring. Other parents and coaches: if you have an avalanche shovel our AMP groups can borrow, please label with your name and bring. We promise to return it at the end of the day!


Ski with a Patroller
• Saturday: Billy DeVore’s group
• Sunday: Dusty Burke’s group


Baby Update… New Member of Buster Team
Congratulations to Buster supervisor Carl Bertelsen and his family who welcomed Brooke Renee Bertelsen into the world on February 16th. Welcome Brooke! Congrats to the Bertelsen family!


Thanks to all Busters and families for your commitment to and support of this program. We look forward to seeing you this weekend!


Think snow,
The Buster Team

The Buster Team
Buster Team

Calendar

 December Events
 January Events
 February Events
 March Events
Sat 12/15/18: Opening Day

 Sun 1/6/19: Race Training
   Snowflake Burning (Minis and Mightys)

Sat 2/2/19:Bump Contest
Sat 3/2/19: Skills Quest
Sun 12/16/18: Sat 1/12/19: Race Training

Sun 2/3/19: Race Training
Snowboard Sunday
Wear Your FavoriteSports Team Jersey

Sun 3/3/19: Snowboard Sunday (tentative)
Sat 12/22/18: Skill Quest

Sun 1/13/19: Snowboard Sunday
   Super-Hero Sunday (Minis and Mightys)

Sat 2/9/19: Snow Science (AMP only)
Race Training
Sat 3/9/19: Race Training
Sun 12/23/18: Sat 1/19/19: Race Training Sun 2/10/19: Snowboard Sunday
Valentine's Theme (Minis and Mightys)
Sun 3/10/19: Snowboard Sunday (tentative)
Sat 12/29/18: Skills Quest Sun 1/20/19:
Wild West Theme (Minis & Mightys)
Sat 2/16/19: Race Training Sat 3/16/19: Race Training
Sun 12/30/18: Pajama Day
(Minis & Mightys)

Sat 1/26/19: Cookie Race

Sun 2/17/19: Stowebuster & AMP Race Event
(Spectators encouraged!)
   Space Theme (Minis & Mightys)
 Sun 3/17/19:
 

Sun 1/27/19: Skills Quest
Snowboard Sunday
Clowning Around Theme (Minis and Mightys)

Sat 2/23/19:Race Training
Snow Science (AMP only)
Sat 3/23/19: Race Training
  Sun 2/24/19:Minibuster & Mightybuser Race Event
(Spectators encouraged!)
   Safari Theme (Minis & Mightys)
Sun 3/24/19:
 
  Sat 3/30/19: Buster Championships
 
  Sun 3/31/19: Last Day